A fresh lick of paint

My husband, Neil, is currently decorating the bathroom, and looking at it, noticing how much fresher and brighter it looks, well it started me thinking.

How would it be if we could give our lives a ‘fresh lick of paint’. Maybe we can, by simply changing our attitudes. I always try to look for the positive in any situation, but instead of simply looking for it, we ought to try and create it!

I thought this quite strongly while food shopping over the festive season. It was a few days before Christmas and the supermarket was crowded, making getting around with a trolley a little more difficult than usual. As we walked around we could hear couples arguing over such mundane things as chocolate gateaux and ice cream! It seems to take so little these days for people to get irritated and as we walked around getting what we needed, my husband and I were chatting about how sad it was that this should be so. It is supposed to be such a joyous time of year, meeting with family and friends etc, but for some people it seems to be nothing short of a nightmare, every little thing adding to the stress.

So as we shopped I deliberately ‘hiked up’ my mood (which was already good as I was looking forward to that evening’s Yule ritual) and smiled at everyone who passed, especially those who looked grumpiest, and many did not return the smile, but some did, and just for a moment I hoped that by smiling on the outside, it had a little positive effect on how they were feeling on the inside. But I have made a decision not to keep this as a Christmas activity but actively try to lift people’s mood all year round. What does a smile, a joke, a kind word or act cost? Nothing! And what better lick of paint could there be for our lives than trying to brighten someone else’s? So why don’t you join me, as they say ‘smile and the world smiles with you’. More positive energy in the world has to be a good thing!

Leave a Reply

