In My Mind

In My Mind

Wandering alone through green forests, birdsong all around
Glimpses of the fae I see through trees of brightest emerald
But now its only in my mind

Skipping solitary through the fields, rabbits running wild
Meeting deer and hawk and pheasant on that sacred ground
But now its only in my mind

Up the hill I go with no one else around, climbing to the top
Scanning all the land below and feeling the closeness of the sky
But now its only in my mind

Sauntering along the river bank, just me, myself alone
The kingfisher darting back and forth, a dance for only me
But now its only in my mind

The mind is strong, the body fails, the treks alone no more
There is a place where I can go, in fields and forest, hill and river
But now its only in my mind

Diane Worthington

2 thoughts on “In My Mind

Leave a Reply

